How to publish a course to Canvas with Syllabus and Homepage
Configuration in the Course Outline:
- Name the Content node as "Syllabus" in the Outline to view it in the Syllabus section of Canvas.
- Name the Content node as "Homepage" in the Outline to get treated as a Homepage in Canvas.
Note: If there are multiple nodes with the name "Homepage" the 1st node as Homepage will be considered. Similarly, if there are multiple syllabus nodes, then apart from 1st one, the rest will be considered as content pages and show up in the Module.
Publish to LMS:
Note: The Publish to LMS feature will be available only if it's enabled for the tenant by the super admin.
- From the Project page, users can publish the course to Canvas.
- Click Publish to LMS.
Note: The Publish to LMS button will only be visible once the course is Published to LOR.
- Select the Canvas LMS on the Publish to LMS modal from the dropdown. Alternatively, create and configure a Canvas LMS for selection.
- On the Publish to LMS modal, users can perform the following actions:
- Select an LMS
- + Add LMS
- LMS Configuration
- Select an LMS.
- Click Publish to LMS
- On the Publish Settings modal configure the following:
- Account and Course Details
- Account Name - Name of the Account (Tenant)
- Account and Course Details
Note: For the first time when users perform deep publish, the account data is fetched from Canvas for the users to choose from. The second time onwards, the last selected Account is retained. Users can click “Change Account” to again fetch the Accounts from Canvas for changing the account.
-
New Course on Canvas - This section allows you to create a new course on Canvas or select from the courses which are already published to LMS once or more than once.
- to create a new one - Enter the Course Name
- to Select Existing Course -
- click Select Existing Course
- Search course by Course ID or Course Name
- Alternatively, click Browse All Courses to view the complete list
- Click Select
Note: For the first time when users perform deep publish, users can view the New Course on the Canvas option. The second time onwards, the last selected Course is retained. Users can click “Change Course” to fetch the courses from Canvas or click on the option to “Create a new course on Canvas”.
- Course URL - The URL of the course published on Canvas (available only if the previously published course is retained)
- Course Description (Optional) - Short Description of the course
Note: While Republishing the course, the Advance settings are disabled to retain the existing settings. Moreover, if the users want to update the existing settings, click “Change Settings”.
- Advance Settings
-
Package Settings
- Non-LTI Package - Content pages as HTML pages (non editable on canvas). Assessment (including description), Assignment and Forum - editable using Canvas native editor.
-
LTI Package (default)
- Content Pages
- As LTI links (non editable on Canvas) (default)
- As LTI embeds.
- Assessment (including description)/Assignment/Forum
- As editable (using the Canvas native editor) (default)
- As LTI embeds.
- Content Pages
- Deep Publish Type
- LTI 1.1
- LTI 1.3
-
Grade Settings
-
Overwrite Grade settings on Canvas - Any grade settings that are already done on Canvas will be overwritten by settings from Frost. This applies to all graded objects.
- On
- Off (Default)
-
Overwrite Rubric associations on Canvas - Any rubric associations done to manually graded objects on Canvas will be overwritten by associated rubrics from Frost.
- On
- Off (Default)
-
Overwrite Grade settings on Canvas - Any grade settings that are already done on Canvas will be overwritten by settings from Frost. This applies to all graded objects.
-
More Configurations
- Open all external tools on a new tab - All external tools and links across the course will open in a separate tab.
-
Package Settings
- Click Publish to LMS on apply the appropriate settings.
- If the connection type with the Canvas LMS is Access Token,
- Publish to LMS log is displayed.
- If the connection type with the Canvas LMS is Developer Keys,
- Users will be redirected to the Canvas Login
- On successful login, authorize the deep publish.
- Publish to LMS log is displayed.
- The Publish to LMS Log is available next to the Publish to LMS button and will only be visible to the user with permission to publish to Canvas. This log displays details including:
- Date & By – Published Date and User Name
- Status – In Queue, Processing, Completed, Failed
- Account & Org - Account chosen by the user and organization associated
- Publish Settings – This is the setting used to publish
- Canvas Course - Link of the course in Canvas LMS along with a New or existing course indication.
- Time Taken - Total time taken to complete the Publish process.
Note: Under the "Account & Org" column, the account is the Canvas account of which that user is a part and org is the organization with which we associate that course during LTI 1.3 deep publish.
- Completion of the publishing process is indicated by an email confirmation to the user's registered email address.